This spring, we are proud to announce that our teas have been certified gluten-free by the Gluten Intolerance Group. Our customers that may have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity can also be assured that our packaging materials do not contain gluten. In addition, our certified organic tea packing facility in Seattle does not process anything with gluten, so there is no risk of cross-contamination.
You may be wondering, “Why do I need to worry about gluten in tea?” While Camellia sinensis, the plant from which tea comes, does not contain any gluten on own its own, gluten is sometimes introduced to tea products by manufacturers as an additive. For example, flavors made with grains containing gluten can be added. (Our flavors do not contain gluten.) Also, sometimes barley malt is used as a sweetener and roasted barley itself can be made into tea. (We do not use barley in any of our teas.) And finally, some tea companies may use gluten-containing glue to close their tea bags. (Our tea bags are sewn shut, so this is not an issue.)
For these reasons and the many phone calls and emails we’ve received from concerned customers, we are pleased that we can offer the added confidence of third party verification that our teas are gluten free. To learn more about our certifier, the Gluten Intolerance Group, visit gluten.net.