Iced Tea Inspiration for Brewing At Home

In our opinion, nothing is better on a hot day than iced tea. Sure, we’re a little biased, but iced tea is so wonderfully refreshing and versatile that it’s hard not to be. These days there are lots of options of bottled brews. But we believe some of the best iced tea is made at home and turns any situation into a special occasion.

There are lots of great reasons to do your own iced tea. When you brew iced tea at home, you have a lot more control over the ingredients and the process. Many bottled iced teas are stuffed full of sugar or other sweeteners, for example. A home-brewed pitcher means you can have as little (or as much) sweetness as you’d like. You can also be more selective with the tea itself. Instead of mystery “black” or “green”, you can use your own favorite variety of organic, Fair Trade certified tea. It also gives you more options when mixing with other ingredients. It’s fun to experiment by adding fruit juice, lemonade, or a more adult beverage. Someone might even name a drink after you! It’s also much cheaper to do it yourself, and in this day and age, any savings are welcome.

While the process seems intimidating, brewing iced tea at home is very simple. All you have to do is brew your tea double its normal strength. For example, a quart of normal tea would require four teabags, so a quart of iced tea would need eight. Brew the tea as you normally would and refrigerate it so it cools down. Then, add in some ice cubes and it’s ready to serve! If you want to try something different, we’ve got a few great drink recipes to liven up the summer. We discourage making “sun tea”, however, as steeping and holding the tea outside the recommended temperatures for a long period of time can increase the risk of illness.

We’ve selected six varieties from our Gourmet line that are best suited for iced tea- Moroccan Mint Green Tea, Green Tea with Essence of Peach, Earl Grey with Lavender, Mango Ceylon with Vanilla, Liquorice Peppermint, and Northwest Blackberry. We love them all here at the office, especially on hot days.

And what’s a celebration without presents? Comment here and be entered to win two boxes of tea (enough for several barbecues) and a Choice Organic Teas hat, made from hemp and organic cotton. It’s everything you need to keep sustainably cool through the summer. We’ll be drawing the winner on Wednesday, July 8.

Enjoy the summer, and stay cool!!

47 thoughts on “Iced Tea Inspiration for Brewing At Home

  1. Wow! I love tea and this stuff sounds amazing. I always make my own iced tea, it is the only way to go! Good luck everyone!

  2. Ohhh, I love tea. 🙂 And this looks like a fantastic giveaway — thank you for setting this up!

  3. The Liquorice peppermint sounds delicious, I like any kind of mint tea really, nothing better to cool the system 🙂 Remember though, never squeeze the tea bag, just a gentle stirring if you must, you don’t want to bruise it. Tea is civilized, don’t be rough with it 😉

  4. I LOVE iced tea and can vouch for the iced tea made with the Earl Grey with Lavender — it is fabulous!!! I’ve got to try some of the other flavors, too. Thanks for the great giveaway and the fab teas!

  5. Tea is my favorite in the summertime! I have never tried other flavors besides lemon or raspberry so this will be great. What a neat giveaway!

  6. Enter me please! I am a tea addict. I have many teapots and kettles and a wooden chest to store my tea in. My favorite? Jasmine!

  7. Awesome! I love, love, love your Lemon Lavender Mint Herb Tea. Never tried it iced though. I’d love to try some of these others.

  8. I’ve been relying on iced tea to keep my self hydrated this summer- much more appealing than water and a lot lower calorie than the bottled alternatives. I hope I get a chance to sample your offerings.

  9. Awesome! I love tea in every season, and free tea is even better. Thanks for the giveaway!

  10. iced tea is one of the best parts of summer, and thank you very much for this contest and your lovely products!!!

  11. Iced Earl Grey with Lavendar would be interesting. Most of my iced tea has always been a typical black.

  12. I have been making iced tea just about every day lately, it is very easy and much better then bottled or freeze dried powder. Only problem is that you go through your tea really fast making big pitchers, sure could use some more =)

  13. Oooh, wow! I’ve never thought of drinking Earl Grey Lavender as an iced tea. I bet that’s absolutely amazing.

  14. Thanks for the great giveaway! the tea flavors sound great my kids would love them, and my husband would love the hat 😉

  15. grew up on tea,,,my mother used to bring me a cup in bed before school.
    your selections look wonderful

  16. Your Green Moroccan Mint Tea is the best green mint tea I have found. What stores in the Houston and San Antonio areas carry your teas?

  17. Woo more tea to try! Love expanding my experience in the tea world to almost anything and this stuff sounds perfect!

  18. Pingback: Choice Organic Teas Giveaway - Ends - 07-07-2009

  19. Iced Tea *is* summer. Here’s hoping my summer sparkles even more from Choice teas and a snazzy hat.

Leave a Reply

