Staff Favorites: Twig Tea

One of the best things about working here at Choice Organic Teas is the sheer range of teas we get to try. There’s a tea here to fit every taste, and we drink them all. The spectrum of teas that we offer means that every employee has a different favorite. And like any tea drinker, we’re passionate about our favorites. So each month, one of us here at Choice Organic Teas writes about our favorites and what they mean to us.

This month Anne-Marie Phillips, our Head of Sales and Marketing, shares her favorite. Anne-Marie spends her day making sure that our tea can be found all across the country. Her favorite? Our Twig Tea.
“Like many tea drinkers, I tend to have one particular tea that I consider my daily, “go-to” tea, but because we have so many teas to choose from, I’ve gone through a number of favorites over time. First it was Genmaicha, then I couldn’t get enough of our Oolong. Our Black Tea never lets me down, and even the distinctive Russian Caravan served as my regular morning cuppa for a short time.

But hands down, my tried and true tea, the tea I can drink all through the day, is the humble Twig Tea, a.k.a. Kukicha, a traditional Japanese tea made from aged and roasted twigs of the tea plant rather than the tea leaf.

Twig tea is naturally low in caffeine since most of the caffeine is concentrated in the leaf of the tea plant. Its rich, roasted flavor provides the warmth and rousing aroma I crave in the morning while providing just enough caffeine throughout the day without keeping me up all night.

Its mellow flavor makes it quite versatile, pairing well with just about any food, but I find it especially good with sushi or as a dessert tea, particularly involving anything with chocolate!

While maybe not as common as some other teas in the U.S., Twig tea has long been a mainstay for those following a macrobiotic diet and ours is the preferred tea for a Taste of Health & the Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine Holistic Holiday at Sea, a healthy living cruise in the Caribbean. I was first introduced to Twig tea by a friend fighting cancer and have since learned it is well known among naturopaths for its antioxidants, purported liver and kidney cleansing properties, and as a remedy for indigestion.

I’ll usually brew a cup of our Original Twig Tea for work or when I’m on-the-go, and brew a pot of our loose leaf Twig Tea- Kukicha when I’m at home and have more time. Either way, I can’t help but help but think I am drinking to my health with each cup.”

What are your healthy teas?

2 thoughts on “Staff Favorites: Twig Tea

  1. I was given some of your Twig Tea as a Christmas present, and after my first cup immediately went to your site to order up more. It is an EXCELLENT brew! Wonderful flavor!

Leave a Reply

